Summer 2021 Award Recipients

Congratulations to our award recipients.


Paul W. Boltz Fellowship

This award is given to advanced students who have demonstrated research output of high quality.  This year's recipients are Malabika Koley and Eduardo Medina.

Robert Willis Harbeson Memorial Dissertation Fellowship

This is a fellowship for students completing a dissertation in public policy, IO or Health related topics. Recipients are Sakshi Bhardwaj and Andrea Atencio-De-Leon.

Morris and Sally Kleiner Labor Economics Prize

Given to a student for their scholarship in labor economics. This year’s awards went to  Maria Noelia Romero and Jian Zhou.

Cleo Fitzsimmons Award: for the highest GPA in the first three semesters in the program went to Abigail Stocker.

Brems Award for best third-year paper: Youning Chen


Robert Demarest Award

Graduate Teaching: Prakrati Thakur

Undergraduate Teaching: Julian Wade Oolman


Departmental Research Awards:  Guillherme Amorim, Ethan Dee, Heejin Kim, Italo Santos, Andreas-Entony Violaris


The decisions were made by the awards committee consisting of  David Albouy, Anil Bera, Dan Bernhardt, Stefan Krasa, and Rebecca Thornton. For the undergraduate teaching awards, Jamie Thomas-Ward and Elizabeth Powers were also part of the decision making process. 


Finally, we also want to congratulate Evangelos Constantinou on receiving a Dissertation Completion Fellowship from the Graduate College. These are very competitive campus-wide awards, which go to students who have already established a strong track record of research, usually including published papers.