Shebik Centennial Economics Scholarship

The Shebik Centennial Economics Scholarship was created to provide financial need-based scholarships to students enrolled in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences who are majoring in economics. The Shebik family has a long legacy with the University of Illinois. In the Department of Economics, Mrs. Megan Shebik is a 1980 alumna with a career of 25 years of consulting in the field of philanthropy. Prior to that, she was employed with the Chicago branch of Kemper National Insurance, with her expertise focused in underwriting management. Mr. Steve Shebik is a 1978 alumnus of the College of Business with undergraduate degrees in Finance and Accountancy and an MBA from the University of Chicago in Finance and Statistics. Son Brian Shebik is a 2016 alumnus with degrees in Economics and Finance and the Master of Science in Analytics degree from the University of Chicago.  Son Matthew Shebik is a 2018 alumnus with a degree in Economics and minors in both Statistics and Business. Matthew is currently pursuing a Master of Science in Finance degree at the Stuart School of Business at Illinois Technology, in Chicago. Daughter Sarah is a 2019 alumna with a Psychology major and a Business minor and is pursuing a Master degree in Forensic Psychology at the Chicago School of Professional Psychology. Steve’s mother, Mrs. Phyllis Shebik, is a 1938 alumna in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, general curriculum. The family has a long spanning history of volunteer work, philanthropy and community involvement with broad reaching efforts in organizations like the Boy Scouts of America, the 1867 Society Council Registered Student Organization at the University of Illinois, non-profit charitable organizations, among others. The Department of Economics, and the University of Illinois, are grateful for the support of our students and programs by the Shebik family.

2020 Hana Abbed, Yael Dohn, Zakiya Hill & Shawn Vetticad
2019 Hana Abbed, Anton Hall, Alyssa Kern & Natalia Plichta
2018 Miranda McNaughton, Brianna Devitt & Quinn Ramirez