Celebrating the 125th Anniversary of the Department of Economics

The Economics Department will celebrate the 125th Anniversary on Saturday April 23rd, 2022 at the Illini Union Ballroom.

The Department would like to express its appreciation to Robert and Lois Resek for their sponsorship of this event.

125th Anniversary Celebration

Location: Illini Union, Ballroom (2nd floor North)

Date: April 23, 2022 (Saturday)

8:00AM-9:00AM Registration

9:00-9:30AM Session 1: History of the Department 

9:00-9:30AM:Former Department Head Martin Perry on the history of the Department

9:30-9:45 - Break 

9:45AM-10:45AM Session 2: Panel on Economics and Current Research Trends: Part I 

Session Chair: Seung-Hyun Hong (UIUC)

Panelists (listed alphabetically):  

Antonio Galvao (Michigan State University, Department of Economics) 

Andreas Hagemann (University of Michigan, Stephen M. Ross School of Business) 

Angelo Mele (Johns Hopkins University, Carey School of Business) 

10:45-11:00 - Break 

11:00AM-12:00PM Session 2: Panel on Economics and Current Research Trends: Part II 

Session Chair: David Albouy (UIUC)

Panelists (listed alphabetically):  

Sarah Miller (University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Stephen M. Ross School of Business) 

Tatiana Mocanu (currently, UIUC; Columbia University next year) 

Ruchi Singh (University of Georgia, Terry College of Business) 

12:00-1:00PM – Lunch Break 

 RSVP is required for lunch

1:00-2:00PM Keynote Event: A Chat with Richard Clarida  

Session Chair: George Deltas (UIUC) 

Richard Clarida (Columbia University, Former Vice Chair of Fed)  

2:00-2:15PM Break

2:15-3:30PM Session 3: Panel on Economics and Public Policy (Health, Education) 

Session Chair: Eun Yi Chung (UIUC)  

Panelists (listed alphabetically):   

Linda Blumberg (Fellow, The Urban Institute)

Morris Kleiner (Professor, University of Minnesota Hubert H. Humphrey School of Public Affairs)

Karen P. Layng (President, M.A.I.T. Co.; National President of the Girl Scouts of the United States of America)

Jess Ruiz (General Counsel and Chief Compliance Officer, Vistria; former Deputy Governor for Education, the State of Illinois).

3:30-3:45PM Break 

3:45- 5:00 PM Session 4: Panel on Economics in Big Tech 

Session Chair: Jorge Lemus (UIUC)

 Panelists(listed alphabetically): 

Filia Arga (Amazon) 

John Schneider (Facebook) 

Mariya Shappo (Uber) 

Philip Swan (retired, IBM)

5:00-5:15PM Break 

5:15-8PM Dinner 

(Dinner is by invitation only, and RSVP is required.)

Remarks by George Deltas, Department Head, Economics

Remarks by Venetria Patton, Dean, LAS